Moving From the Cube to the Window…

For those of you who know me, I am a huge fan of having mentors– and being a mentor. So many people want to enjoy their jobs and have purpose and meaning in their career. Sometimes I get asked, “How do I get the next title? or “I want to move out of my cube into an office.” Frankly, I am always a little stumped when I get those questions.  To me, it’s not about the size of the office, the title, or whether I am in a cube or near a window.

So, what do I mean by this?

1. Do what you love, love what you do. I try to find jobs or work that don’t feel like work. Even if the project or job feels daunting in the beginning, my recommendation is to dive in, understand what needs to be done and own the project. I often ask others for their advice if I am not sure how to get something done. I receive great input and my advisor’s really appreciate being asked for their opinion.

2. Over-deliver on the deliverables. Exceed expectations when asked to do something. Most important, make sure to do the full-time job with excellence. Once that is mastered, go beyond what was asked and look for areas that could be improved. Don’t wait for someone to ask you about the project–be proactive in giving updates and calling a meeting to showcase your work. Get others inspired by what you are doing.

3. Give back and be there -People who volunteer are truly the cream of the crop and the top 10%. The first step of accomplishment is simply being there. Volunteers are the people who want to learn new things and have their fingers on the pulse. These are the people with whom I like to be around and learn from.

4. Good things will come. When the passion and the purpose are evident, the plum assignments will follow. What gives me energy is loving what I am doing–and being able to do great work. And isn’t that the key?


One response to “Moving From the Cube to the Window…

  1. Couldn’t agree more! And I’m always impressed how you can find this at big corporations — you have a lot to teach us!

Leave a Reply

